The Iguana Bar and Grill

On Saturday, Feb 2nd, after English classes at the Mission Home, Felsted Elder said to me, Do you want to go to that Mexican Restaurant?  I had been looking through a little tourist booklet at the various places and advertisements and mentioned this Mexican place to him the day before.  Of course, I said SURE!  And it sounded like a grand adventure… we could take the metro and walk a couple of blocks to the restaurant.

So that is what we did.  We figured out how many stops from our closest metro stop and went down to Széll Kálmán Tér (think I finally figured out the correct spelling of that place) and boarded the Metro there.  We went two stops and the train goes under the Danube River. Our stop was across the street from the Parliament Building.  Then around the corner and down a couple of streets to the restaurant.

IMG_0544Looking across the Danube from Zoltan Ut, the street with The Iguana Bar and Grill.  The Buda Castle district is up on the hill.  We live on the other side of the hill.  Lots of rain here.

IMG_0538Loved the menu – with the Hungarian versions of various things.  (We also got an English menu!)  I wanted some soft tacos but the waitress assumed since I was American, that I wanted the crispy shells.  Next time I will make sure she understands exactly what I want.  Felsted Elder got enchilladas.  Think he will order something else next time – the sauce was a little too Hungarian for him.

Very darling decor – right out of the American West!  Having never been to Mexico, not sure if they decorate things like this or not!!!!

IMG_0543Iguana must be a popular name for Mexican restaurants.  Sister Carpenter said they went to one in Singapore with that name…

One of my sons said – you went to a BAR?  I jokingly told him we had our Missionary Tags on… and said, really, this is Hungary.  Probably not a restaurant without a bar here.

And now, we have been to TWO places on the public transportation…

 

6 thoughts on “The Iguana Bar and Grill

  1. Yeah…sounds fun! I remember when we found our first Mexican restaurant in France, we were so thrilled. Isn’t it amazing how much variety we have to choose from in the USA? We hope you are having s great experience!

  2. Yeah…sounds fun! I remember when we found our first Mexican restaurant in France, we were so thrilled. Isn’t it amazing how much variety we have to choose from in the USA? We hope you are having s great experience! Love, Erik

    • Pretty funny – but I have to tell you that if it was like the little bar in the basement on our street, I would have NEVER gone in…. reminds me of the places my Dad went into – and I had to wait outside… (when I was 6).

Leave a Reply

